Knitting nancy

I’ve been thinking about this for quite some time now: how I used to have a mushroom shaped knitting nancy. I only recently found out what the name was through searching for summer camp activity ideas for work this summer. Part of the process to do summer camp at my job is to fill in 3 months worth of activities, field trips, etc. in a calendar and submit it to my boss, and to others who are overlooking and considering the decision. There are a number of us at work applying to work for summer camp. I’ve never done this before, but I know that I’m not gauranteed a job for the summer – so I have to do my best to give myself the best chance at continuing work with summer camp. I really do hope I get it – I don’t know what I would do without my time filled with working and without money if I didn’t get a placement.

Anyway, continuing on, I found this nifty idea about making your own DIY knitting nancy by taking paper towel/toilet rolls and popsicle sticks. You can decorate however you want, and use it the same way as you would any other already made knitting nancy.

Here are a few photos to show what I am talking about:

20140124-210313.jpg

Apparently, it is of something called French knitting… and you can expand from two prongs, to four prongs, to many more to make all sorts of neat things. I’m shocked that it has taken me this long to realize that the actual name of this is called, but at the same time, really excited. I’m looking forward to this type of activity with any group of kids willing to make it with me.
DIY knitting nancy

In the coming days, when I have a chance, I’m going to look more into the projects that are associated with it, it’s a good thing for kids to do, and since inwardly, I’m such a kid at heart (even act like one sometimes, OOPS!  O_o…), it’s good for my soul too.
Also, I’m interested in finding a Russian doll type of knitting nancy! Won’t that be fun? oooooh, this girl is so excited about this!

Have a great night!
Signing off –
~ Miss LMM

Leave a Reply

